Nunney Castle is a medieval castle in Nunney, Somerset. It was built in the 14th century by Sir John de la Mere, a local knight using the profits of his involvement in the Hundred Years War.
The castle was remodelled during the late 16th century and was held for the King during the Civil War, but fell to Parliamentarian cannon in 1645 which can be seen clearly from the front just over the bridge.
The castle wall stood until Christmas day in 1910, the gun-damaged portion of the wall then finally collapsed.
You can clearly see from inside the castle where each floor would have been. Fallen sections allowed for easy access to the corner towers.
A moat surrounds the castle creating an idyllic scene. The castle itself is free entry and parking is also free just a short distance away. Adjacent to the moat is a path that runs around the perimeter.
Nunney Castle is a worthwhile visit for anyone passing the area, although it does not have enough going on to make it a day trip on its own. No more than a hour and a half is needed to explore the castle and stroll through the village.
Leave a Reply